7. Get Over It

Reading List

One passage per day for a whole week, based on the sermon:

  1. Matthew 15:21-28 (Faith of the Canaanite woman – Not a Jew)
  2. Matthew 8:5-13 (Faith of the Centurion – Not a Jew)
  3. Romans 9, particularly verses 30-33 (Jesus is called the “Rock of Offence” in the King James Version because he offers a way to salvation for non-Jews that relies on faith, not on works)
  4. Luke 17:1-19 (that which causes one to stumble = offense)
  5. Matthew 21:28-46 (especially verse 42, the “Stone of Offence” from #3 becomes the “Chief Cornerstone” of our faith)
  6. 1 Peter 2 (especially verse 8)
  7. 1 Corinthians 1:18-31 (especially verse 23)

eGroup Curriculum – Questions also great for personal reflection/journaling.

Continue reading